cmc logo
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Award winners



Linda Catlin Smith’s Garland was the 2005 winner of the Canada Council for the Arts’ Jules Leger Prize for New Chamber Music. This prize was established in 1978 by the Right Honourable Jules Léger, then Governor General of Canada, to encourage the creation of new chamber music and to foster its performance. It is presented in partnership with the Canadian Music Centre and CBC Radio.

Former winners include Éric Morin, Yannick Plamondon, Chris Harman, André Ristic, Alexina Louie, Michael Oesterle, Omar Daniel, Christos Hatzis, John Burke, Peter Paul Koprowski, Bruce Mather, Donald Steven, Michael Colgrass, Denys Bouliane, Michel Longtin, Brian Cherney, John Hawkins, Walter Boudreau, John Rea, Serge Garant, Bruce Mather and R. Murray Schafer.


The jury for the 2005 Jules Leger Prize commented that “Garland pushes not only the boundaries of chamber music, but it concurrently challenges the notion of contemporary creation in that the work was written for baroque period instruments. The composition has an immediate beauty. This ‘jewel’ has been exquisitely handled with intuitive and unusual compositional competence, creating a colouristically perfect and convincing musical offering. This brief work appears modest in scope but reveals itself profound in spirit – capturing us again and again.”

Originally commissioned and premiered by the Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra, Garland was programmed for Tafelmusik’s January 2006 main series performances upon receiving the Leger Prize. This performance was recorded by CBC Radio and this recording is featured as part of this audio exhibit.

Among Friends Jeux de societ Riverrun For the Time Being Garland

About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits