cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Award Winners
Jeux de societ

Jeux de societ

The Award

Denys Bouliane’s Jeux de societe was the 1982 prize winner for the CBC National Radio Competition for Young Composers and the Gaudeamus Foundation Competition in Holland.

Founded in 1945, the Gaudeaumus Foundation is a renowned centre for contemporary music in Amsterdam. It organizes and promotes contemporary musical activities and concerts both in The Netherlands and abroad. Gaudeamus focuses on supporting the development of young composers and musicians through its library facilities, contacts with international organizations, and its own activities including the International Gaudeamus Music Week.

CBC Radio’s Young Composer Competition is held every two years and is administered by the Canada Council for the Arts. The competition is open to composers under the age of 30 in three categories: chamber, electronic and orchestral works. Other winners of this award include Analia Llugdar, Brian Current, Ana Sokolovic, Michael Oesterle, Melissa Hui, Jacques Tremblay, Chris Paul Harman, John Oliver, and Mario Rodrigue.

THE WORK

Jeux de societe, a work for woodwind quintet and piano in five parts, is a piece that is at once light and satirical. Its structure and thematic content are inspired by the free and easy character of the games people play. The piece begins with a game of “Blind Man’s Bluff”. “The Telephone Game” is a circular game with a fragment that unpredictably works its way into a Chopin etude. In the “Poker Party”, the piano is the dealer. “The Interludes” provides a short break before the chattery “Gossip” section.

I like many different pieces for many different reasons. If you were to listen to only one piece, I would suggest Jeux de Société. It is a very lively work for piano and woodwind quintet; it has some very special exuberant passages, and also has a bit of "tongue-in-cheek", as if the players were trying to sound a bit bigger than they really are!” – Denys Bouliane (interview on National Arts Centre website).


Among Friends Jeux de societ Riverrun For the Time Being Garland



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Award Winners
Jeux de societ

Jeux de societ

LE(S) PRIX

Jeux de société de Denys Bouliane a remporté en 1982 le premier prix au Concours national de jeunes compositeurs de la radio de la SRC, ainsi que le Concours de la Fondation Gaudeamus, en Hollande.

Fondée en 1945, la Fondation Gaudeamus est un centre renommé de musique contemporaine à Amsterdam. Elle s'occupe de l'organisation et de la promotion d'événements et de concerts de musique contemporaine aux Pays-Bas ainsi qu'à l'étranger. La Fondation met l'accent sur le soutien apporté aux jeunes compositeurs et musiciens par le biais de ses bibliothèques, de ses contacts avec des organismes internationaux de même que par ses propres activités, y compris la Semaine internationale de musique Gaudeamus.

Le Concours de jeunes compositeurs de la radio de la SRC a lieu tous les deux ans et il est administré par le Conseil des Arts du Canada. Le concours s'adresse aux compositeurs de moins de 30 ans, dans trois catégories : musique de chambre, musique électronique et oeuvres pour orchestre. Les autres lauréats de ce concours sont Analia Llugdar, Brian Current, Ana Sokolovic, Michael Oesterle, Melissa Hui, Jacques Tremblay, Chris Paul Harman, John Oliver et Mario Rodrigue.

L'OEUVRE

Jeux de société , une oeuvre en cinq sections pour quintette à vent et piano, est à la fois légère et satirique. Sa structure et son contenu s'inspirent du côté libre et facile des jeux auxquels les gens s'amusent. La pièce commence par un jeu de « Colin-maillard ». « Le jeu du téléphone » est un jeu circulaire comportant un fragment qui se transforme, de manière imprévisible, en une étude de Chopin. Dans « Poker », le piano est le donneur. L'« Interlude » procure une courte pause avant le « Gossip » bavard.

« J'aime un grand nombre de pièces différentes pour une foule de raisons différentes. Si vous deviez écouter une seule pièce, je suggérerais Jeux de société . C'est une oeuvre pleine de vie pour piano et quintette à vent. Elle contient des passages très particuliers et exubérants, et elle fait un peu dans l'ironie, comme si les interprètes essayaient de sonner un peu plus grands que nature ! » -- Denys Bouliane (interview publiée sur le site Web du Centre national des Arts) .


Among Friends Jeux de societ Riverrun For the Time Being Garland

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits