cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Award Winners
For the Time Being

For the Time Being

THE AWARD

Brian Current’s For the Time Being was the “Work selected in the category of composers under 30” at the 2001 International Rostrum of Composers (IRC). The IRC is a forum of representatives of broadcasting organizations who come together for the purpose of exchanging and broadcasting contemporary music. Initiated in 1954, the IRC is organized by the International Music Council with the assistance of UNESCO and participating radio networks.

Other Canadian composers who have been acknowledged at the IRC in recent years include Chris Paul Harman, Sergio Barroso, Kelly-Marie Murphy, Paul Steenhuisen, Eric Morin, Harry Freedman, Pierre-K. Klanac, Jocelyn Morlock, Abigail Richardson, Serge Provost and T. Patrick Carrabre.

THE WORK

For the Time Being was composed for the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne in 1999 with support from the Canada Council for the Arts. Brian’s goal was to create a piece that was textural and goal-oriented, music that is always going somewhere. Each of the three sections of this works ends with a climactic area where a wash of ensemble-wide gestures lurch and drift in and out of major chords. These are in some instances meant to sound mechanical but at other times they are meant to sound like music that wants to be alive, or breathing. Major triads are used to provide familiar sonorities, causing the ear to relax slightly as if finding an old friend amidst a sea of changing textures and clusters. For Brian the title For the Time Being seemed appropriate as it contains a triple-entendre that speaks of time and of being and of the present moment.


Among Friends Jeux de societ Riverrun For the Time Being Garland



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Award Winners
For the Time Being

For the Time Being

LE PRIX

For the Time Being de Brian Current fut l' « Oeuvre sélectionnée dans la catégorie des compositeurs âgés de moins de 30 ans » à l'édition 2001 de la Tribune internationale de compositeurs (TIC) . La TIC est le lieu de rencontre de représentants d'organismes de radiodiffusion, qui se réunissent pour échanger et diffuser des oeuvres de musique contemporaine. Fondée en 1954, la TIC est gérée par le Conseil international de la musique avec le soutien de l'UNESCO et des radios participantes.

Les autres compositeurs canadiens reconnus à la TIC au cours des dernières années sont Chris Paul Harman, Sergio Barroso, Kelly-Marie Murphy, Paul Steenhuisen, Éric Morin, Harry Freedman, Pierre-K. Klanac, Jocelyn Morlock, Abigail Richardson, Serge Provost et T. Patrick Carrabré.

L'OEUVRE

For the Time Being a été composée en 1999 pour le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne , grâce au soutien du Conseil des Arts du Canada. Brian avait pour objectif de créer une pièce texturée et dirigée vers un but, une musique qui va toujours quelque part. Chacune des trois sections de l'oeuvre se termine par un passage paroxystique où un tourbillon de gestes, impliquant la formation entière, zigzaguent et dérivent entre des accords majeurs. Ces derniers sont parfois censés produire un impression mécanique, mais, à d'autres moments, ils sont conçus pour créer une musique qui se veut vivante, qui respire. Les accords majeurs ont pour but de proposer des sonorités familières, qui invitent l'oreille à se détendre un peu, comme si elle rencontrait un vieil ami au milieu d'un océan de textures et de masses sonores toujours changeantes. Pour Brian, le titre For the Time Being semblait adéquat puisqu'il fait allusion à trois éléments : le temps, l'être, et le moment présent.


Among Friends Jeux de societ Riverrun For the Time Being Garland

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits