cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Contexts
Cantate pour une joie

Cantate pour une joie

THE WORK

Cantate pour une joie is a cantata in seven sections for soprano, chorus and orchestra and was completed in 1955 by a young Pierre Mercure. This was one of the first of Mercure's major works and it illustrates the influence of both Ravel and Honegger.

The poems written by Gabriel Charpentier express modern man's search for the happiness of faith. The composer states that this work illustrates the yearning for joy rather than the concept of joy itself. This is reflected in the works title as well as the musical language of the piece itself.

The work has premiered on February 1, 1956 by soloist Marguerite Lavergen and the CMC chorus and orchestra and it is the CBC's broadcast of this recording which is featured here. The score has received some prominent performances in the years since its premiere by ensembles such as the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, The Montreal Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, and the Calgary Philharmonic and it was used as the basis for a 1976 Brian MacDonald ballet Les Grands Ballets Canadiens

THE CONTEXT

The archival recording featured here includes the premiere recording from 1956 as well as comments on the work by the composer himself and was broadcast on CBC Radio only weeks after the Mercure's tragic death in January 1966 at the age of 39.


Cantate pour une joie Fall Fair Kuyas Canada dash Canada dot - part III North Country



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Contexts
Cantate pour une joie

Cantate pour une joie

L'oeuvre

Cantate pour une joie est une cantate en sept sections pour soprano, chur et orchestre que le jeune Pierre Mercure termina en 1955. Il s'agit de l'une des premières uvres importantes de Mercure, qui porte l'influence à la fois de Ravel et de Honegger.

Les poèmes de Gabriel Charpentier expriment la quête du bonheur de la foi chez l'homme moderne. Le compositeur explique que l'oeuvre illustre « la soif de la joie » plutôt que le concept de la joie elle-même. Cela se reflète aussi bien dans le titre que dans le langage musical de la pièce.

L'uvre fut crée le 1 er février 1956 par la soliste Marguerite Lavergne ainsi que le chur et l'orchestre de la SRC. C'est la radiodiffusion de cet enregistrement par la SRC que l'on retrouve ici. La pièce a depuis fait l'objet d'exécutions prestigieuses par des ensembles tels que le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal et le Choeur de l'OSM et le Calgary Philharmonic. C'est sur cette oeuvre qu'est basé le ballet de Brian MacDonald créé en 1976 par Les Grands Ballets Canadiens.

Le contexte

L'enregistrement d'archives présenté ici inclut la création radiophonique de 1956 de même que des commentaires du compositeur sur son uvre. L'enregistrement fut radiodiffusé par Radio-Canada quelques semaines seulement après la mort tragique de Mercure, survenue en 1966 alors qu'il avait 39 ans.


Cantate pour une joie Fall Fair Kuyas Canada dash Canada dot - part III North Country

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits