cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Contexts
Kuyas

Kuyas

THE WORK

Kuyas is an eight-minute work for voice, flute, and percussion and is one of Harry Somers best-known works.

Somers wrote it on commission from the International Institute of Music of Canada for the Montreal International Voice Competition of 1967. Somers was known as a lover of languages, and for this work set lines in the Cree language taken from a Cree grammar book, an English-Cree primer and vocabulary book, and a story told by Coming Day, a Cree of the Sweetwater Reserve. The work is dedicated to Mrs. Lou Waller, a Cree from Alberta, who worked with the composer to on specific pronunciation, cadences, and meanings.

The opening of the song is a solo vocal cadenza invoking the sunrise and is a quotation of a lamenting song of a Wolfhead chief of a Nass River tribe in British Columbia, in the Nass people's language. After the sunrise, the singer announces to the Great Spirit "I who am hungry will hunt" and names the animals he will hunt. Then there is a short section announcing the sunset, and finally the beginning of a story: "Long ago (Kuyas), that one was a chief..." and a few more words to establish the age and source of the story..."

A few years later, in writing his opera Louis Riel, Somers was having trouble composing a lullaby to open its Act III. Eventually he came to sense that Kuyas would be the perfect material for this passage, and therefore used it as the opening of Act III.

THE CONTEXT

Louis Riel an opera in three acts was commissioned by the Floyd S. Chalmers Foundation and produced by the Canadian Opera Company (COC). This work was one of many to be created to commemorate Canada's centennial year and was Canada's first bilingual opera. The opera has its premiere performance, with Victor Feldbrill conducting, at the Toronto's O'Keefe Centre on September 23, 1967 and was performed at Montreal's Place des Arts in October of the same year.

The work depicts the post-Confederation political events bounded by the Indian and Métis uprisings of 1869-70 and 1884-5 and the personal tragedy of the uprisings' leader, the Manitoba schoolteacher and Métis hero Louis Riel. In writing this opera, Somers was having difficulty composing a lullaby to open Act III. Eventually he came to sense that Kuyas would be the perfect material for this passage, and therefore used it as the opening of Act III. It would also inform much of the musical material for the rest of the Act.

The production would be repeated a number of time Toronto, Ottawa and Washington, DC and was adapted for CBC TV and issued in a complete recording on the Canadian Music Centre's Centrediscs label. Opera McGill presented the first full staging of Louis Riel in 30 years in January 2005, in celebration of the 100th anniversary of McGill University's music program.


Cantate pour une joie Fall Fair Kuyas Canada dash Canada dot - part III North Country



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Contexts
Kuyas

Kuyas

L'uvre

Kuyas , une pièce de huit minutes pour voix, flûte et percussion, compte parmi les oeuvres les plus connues de Harry Somers.

Cette oeuvre fut commandée à Somers par l'Institut international de musique du Canada en vue du Concours international de chant de Montréal, en 1967. Somers était connu pour son amour des langues. Il a intégré dans cette uvre des extraits en langue crie tirés d'une grammaire crie et d'un abécédaire anglais-cri, ainsi qu'une histoire racontée par Coming Day, un Cri de la réserve de Sweetwater. L'uvre est dédiée à Mme Lou Waller, une Crie de l'Alberta, qui a prodigué au compositeur des conseils sur la prononciation, les cadences et le sens des mots.

La mélodie s'ouvre par une cadence vocale en solo évoquant le lever du soleil et qui reprend, dans sa langue originale, la complainte d'un chef Wolfhead, d'une tribu de Nass River, en Colombie-Britannique. Après le lever du soleil, le chanteur annonce au Grand Esprit : « Moi qui ai faim, je vais chasser », et il nomme les animaux qu'il va chasser. Suit une courte section annonçant le coucher du soleil, puis enfin le début d'une histoire : « Il y a longtemps (Kuyas), celui-là était un chef... » et quelques mots de plus pour établir l'âge et l'origine de l'histoire »

Quelques années plus tard, au moment d'écrire son opéra Louis Riel, Sommers éprouvait de la difficulté à composer une berceuse pour le début de son troisième acte. Il lui vint soudain à l'esprit que Kuyas serait tout indiqué pour ce passage, et il l'a donc utilisé pour le début du troisième acte.

 

Le contexte

Louis Riel opéra en trois actes fut commandé par la fondation Floyd S. Chalmers et monté par la Canadian Opera Company (COC). L'une des nombreuses uvres commandées pour commémorer le centenaire du Canada, il fut le premier opéra canadien bilingue. Il fut créé au O'Keefe Centre de Toronto sous la direction de Victor Feldbrill, le 23 septembre 1967, et repris en octobre de la même année à la Place des Arts de Montréal.

L'uvre décrit les événements qui ont suivi l'acte de la Confédération, encadrés par les soulèvements indiens et métis de 1869-70 et de 1844-85, de même que la tragédie personnelle du leader des ces soulèvements, l'instituteur manitobain et héros métis, Louis Riel. Au moment d'écrire son opéra, éprouvant de la difficulté à composer une berceuse pour le début du troisième acte, il vint soudain à l'esprit de Somers que Kuyas serait tout indiqué pour ce passage. Il l'a donc utilisé pour le début du troisième acte et la pièce influence une grande partie du matériau du troisième acte.

Cette production sera reprise plusieurs fois à Toronto, Ottawa et Washington, puis adaptée pour la télévision de Radio-Canada. Elle fait l'objet d'un enregistrement intégral sous l'étiquette Centredisques du Centre de musique canadienne. En janvier 2005, dans le cadre des célébrations du centième anniversaire du programme de musique de l'Université McGill, Opéra McGill en a réalisé la première mise en scène intégrale depuis 30 ans.


Cantate pour une joie Fall Fair Kuyas Canada dash Canada dot - part III North Country

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits