cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Contexts
North Country

North Country

THE WORK

Harry Somers' North Country written in the fall of 1948 is one of the composer's earliest orchestra works, and remains one of his most frequently played.  It is also, in the words of biographer Brian Cherney, "one of Somers' most original and striking achievements, evoking qualities of the northern Ontario wilderness which Somers had been visiting around the time he wrote the work, with its rugged terrain, bleak landscapes, tranquility and loneliness.

Essentially the work is a four-movement suite ... Notwithstanding, the music ... is highly suggestive of certain qualities one associates with the vast semi-wilderness of northern Ontario bleakness, ruggedness, and loneliness. The musical characteristics which suggest these qualities are not difficult to isolate: the taut, lean textures and nervous rhythmic vitality (especially of the outer two movements) and the spare, thin melodic lines (especially in a high register, as in the first movement) are the most obvious traits. " Cherney (1975: 35).

Cherney, Brian. Harry Somers. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1975.

THE CONTEXT

North Country was written at the end of what has been viewed by those with a scholarly interest in Canadian music as Harry Somers' first period of composition. Essentially this piece, as well as a handful of other works including a string quartet and his Symphony No. 1 , would mark the transition to a more mature compositional style. Even though Somers' was gaining respect from his peers at this time he was definitely not making a comfortable living from his craft. Over the next decade (the 1950's) Canada would begin to recognize its artists and Somers' would take his place as one of the country's leading composers of the younger generation.


Cantate pour une joie Fall Fair Kuyas Canada dash Canada dot - part III North Country



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Contexts
North Country

North Country

L'uvre

North Country , écrit à l'automne 1948, est l'une des premières pièces pour orchestre de Harry Somers, et elle demeure l'une de celles que l'on joue le plus souvent. Il s'agit aussi, selon les termes de son biographe Brian Cherney, de « l'une des réussites les plus originales et les plus frappantes de Somers », une oeuvre qui évoque les traits pittoresques des régions sauvages du nord de l'Ontario, que Somers avait visitées peu avant de la composer : terrain accidenté, paysages désolés, tranquillité et solitude.

« L'uvre est essentiellement une suite en quatre mouvements Néanmoins, la musique... suggère fortement des traits que l'on associe à la vaste étendue semi-sauvage rude, désolée et solitaire du nord de l'Ontario. Les éléments musicaux qui suggèrent ces traits ne sont pas difficiles à identifier : les plus évidents sont des textures et tendues et transparentes, un élan rythmique nerveux (particulièrement dans les premier et dernier mouvements) et des lignes mélodiques sobres et ténues (tout particulièrement dans le registre aigu, comme dans le premier mouvement). » - Cherney (1975 : 35).

Cherney, Brian. Harry Somers . Toronto  : University of Toronto Press, 1975.

 

Le contexte

D'un point de vue musicologique, North Country appartient à la fin de la première période de composition de Harry Somers. Essentiellement, cette pièce, tout comme une poignée d'autres uvres incluant un quatuor à cordes et la Symphonie no 1 , marque la transition vers un style de composition plus mûr. Même si Somers s'attirait déjà le respect de ses pairs, son métier ne lui permettait certainement pas de bien gagner sa vie. Au cours de la décennie suivante (les années 50), le Canada commencera à reconnaître ses artistes et Somers deviendra l'un des compositeurs les plus en vue de « la jeune génération ».


Cantate pour une joie Fall Fair Kuyas Canada dash Canada dot - part III North Country

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits