cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Electronic Frontiers
Scientist in music

Scientist in music

The Work

This recording, which is a portion of an episode of CBC's Two New Hours, features an interview with composer and researcher Gayle Young about her book on Hugh LeCaine. At that time the working title of the book was "Hugh Le Caine Scientist in Music: A Biography". It would later become The Sackbut Blues : Hugh Le Caine, Pioneer in Electronic Music (1989).

Gayle Young's interest in this project started with the musical instrument that LeCaine had invented but she found that she became more interested in the man's motivations and his work in science (radar and subatomic physic) and its relationship to his music. His innovations lead to the first polyphonic synthesizer and the first touch sensitive electronic keyboard.

This broadcast features a recording of LeCaine demonstrating the monophonic synthesizer with keyboard control he created in 1948 and this includes a performance of his composition Sackbut Blues.

THE COMPOSER

Canadian scientist and composer Hugh Le Caine (1914-77) was brought up in Port Arthur, now Thunder Bay, in northwestern Ontario. Throughout his youth he studied music, particularly piano, and dreamed of applying scientific techniques to the invention of musical instruments. At an early age he began building musical instruments and experimenting with electronic devices imagining "beautiful sounds" that he believed could be realized through these electronic inventions.

After earning his M.Sc. from Queen's University in 1939, Le Caine joined the National Research Council in Ottawa. There he worked on the development of the first radar systems and in atomic physics. At home he continued to pursue his interest in electronic music and sound generation, establishing a studio where he began to work on the design of electronic musical instruments. On the strength of his public demonstrations of his instruments, he was permitted to move his musical activities to the NRC and to work on them full time.

Over the next twenty years he built over 22 new instruments, and collaborated in the development of electronic studios at the University of Toronto and McGill University. Le Caine taught at both Universities and influenced a generation of composers of electroaccoustic music.


Scientist in music The Reprieve Beneath the Forest Floor Concerto pour Ondes-Martenot Riverrun



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Electronic Frontiers
Scientist in music

Scientist in music

LOEUVRE

Cet enregistrement, qui est une partie d'une émission de la série Two New Hours, présente une interview avec la compositrice et musicologue Gayle Young au sujet de son ouvrage sur Hugh Le Caine. À l'époque, le titre de travail du livre était « Hugh Le Caine Scientifique et musicien : une biographie ». Le titre final sera Blues pour saqueboute : Hugh Le Caine, pionnier de la musique électronique (1989).

L'intérêt de Gayle Young pour ce projet a d'abord porté sur l'instrument de musique que Le Caine avait inventé, mais, progressivement, elle est devenue davantage fascinée par les motivations de l'homme et par ses travaux scientifiques (sur les radars et la physique subatomique) de même que par leur lien avec la musique. Ses innovations ont conduit à la mise au point du premier synthétiseur polyphonique et du premier clavier électronique à touches sensibles.

Cet enregistrement radiophonique fait entendre Le Caine en train de faire la démonstration du synthétiseur monophonique avec contrôle du clavier qu'il conçut en 1948, et il inclut une exécution de sa pièce Sackbut Blues .

LE COMPOSITEUR

Le scientifique et compositeur canadien Hugh Le Caine (1914-1977) grandit à Port Arthur, aujourd'hui Thunder Bay, dans le nord-ouest de l'Ontario. Dans sa jeunesse, il étudia la musique, en particulier le piano, et il rêvait d'appliquer des techniques scientifiques à l'invention d'instruments de musique. Très tôt, il commença à construire des instruments de musique et à mener des expériences sur des dispositifs électroniques en imaginant les « beaux sons » qu'il croyait pouvoir réaliser grâce à ces inventions électroniques.

Après avoir obtenu sa maîtrise en sciences de l'Université Queen's en 1939, Le Caine entra au Conseil national de recherches à Ottawa. Il y travailla à la mise au point des premiers systèmes de radar et il mena des recherches dans le domaine de la physique atomique. Chez lui, il poursuivit ses expériences en matière de musique électronique et de génération du son, et il se construisit un studio où il entreprit de travailler à la conception d'instruments musicaux électroniques. Sur la foi de démonstrations publiques de ses instruments, on lui permit de transférer ses activivtés musicales au CNR et d'y travailler à temps complet.

 

Au cours des 20 années qui suivirent, il construisit plus de 22 nouveaux instruments, et il participa à la mise sur pied de studios de musique électronique aux universités de Toronto et McGill. Le Caine enseigna aux deux universités et influença sur toute une génération de compositeurs de musique électroacoustique.


Scientist in music The Reprieve Beneath the Forest Floor Concerto pour Ondes-Martenot Riverrun

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits