cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Electronic Frontiers
The Reprieve

The Reprieve

THE WORK

In 1973, when Ann Southam was asked if she gets impatient with those who find electronic music a "threat" to traditional music she responded in this way: "No. The very fact that such a question would ever arise is interestingOf course, it's not a possibility; it's like saying Are grapes going to take over from apples'."

Mitchell, C.J. 'Warmth a characteristic of Ann Southam's electronic music,' MSc , 269, Jan-Feb 1973

In that same interview Southam spoke of her interest in collaborating with choreographers to create modern dance works rather than ballet, in which visual patterns often replace audible ones. In modern dance the music and dancers work independently and in conjunction, creating tensions that are doubly suggestive and effective. She has also explored composing to existing choreography and this has allowed her the opportunity to deal with what she refers to as "chance relationships".

An example of Southam electronic music used for modern dance is The Reprieve (1976), which was choreographed by Patricia Beatty for Toronto Dance Theatre.

THE COMPOSER

Ann Southam was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1937 but has lived most of her life in Toronto. After completing musical studies at the University of Toronto and the Royal Conservatory of Music, Ann began a teaching and composing career which has included a long and productive association with modern dance. As well as creating music for some of Canada's major modern dance companies and choreographers including The Toronto Dance Theatre, Danny Grossman, Dancemakers, Patricia Beatty, Christopher House and Rachel Browne, she has been an instructor in electronic music at the Royal Conservatory of Music and has participated in many "composer-in-the-classroom" programs.

While much of her work has been electroacoustic music on tape, she has become increasingly interested in music for acoustic instruments. She has composed concert music for a variety of acoustic instruments and ensembles, working with such artists and ensembles as Eve Egoyan, Beverley Johnston and Arraymusic. Southam is a member of the Canadian Music Centre, the Canadian League of Composers and a founding member of the Association of Canadian Women Composers.


Scientist in music The Reprieve Beneath the Forest Floor Concerto pour Ondes-Martenot Riverrun



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Electronic Frontiers
The Reprieve

The Reprieve

L'oeuvre

Quand on a demandé à Ann Southam, en 1973, s'il lui arrive de perdre patience à l'endroit de ceux pour qui la musique électronique est une « menace » à la musique traditionnelle, elle a répondu : « Non. Le fait qu'on pose une telle question est en soi intéressant. Évidemment que la chose est impossible. C'est comme dire : « Les raisins remplaceront-ils les pommes? »

Mitchell, C.J. « Warmth a characteristic of Ann Southam's electronic music » MSc , 269, janv.-fév. 1973

Dans cette même interview, Southam explique pourquoi elle aime travailler avec les chorégraphes qui créent de la danse moderne plutôt que des ballets, où les motifs visuels remplacent souvent les motifs sonores. Dans la danse moderne, la musique et les danseurs évoluent à la fois séparément et en conjonction, ce qui produit des tensions doublement suggestives et efficaces. Southam a aussi exploré la composition à partir de chorégraphies existantes, une occasion pour elle de faire l'expérience de « relations aléatoires ».

Un bon exemple de la musique électronique de Southam pour la danse moderne est The Reprieve (1976), dans une chorégraphie de Patricia Beatty créée au Toronto Dance Theatre.

le compositeur

Ann Southam est née en 1937, à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, mais elle a passé presque toute sa vie à Toronto. Après des études en musique à l'Université de Toronto et au Royal Conservatory of Music, elle a entrepris une carrière d'enseignante et de compositeur qui inclut une association longue et fructueuse avec la danse moderne. Elle a composé de la musique pour quelques-uns des plus grands chorégraphes et compagnies de danse moderne, dont The Toronto Dance Theatre, Danny Grossman, Dancemakers, Patricia Beatty, Christopher House et Rachel Browne. Elle enseigne la musique électronique au Royal Conservatory of Music et participe à de nombreux ateliers du genre « le compositeur dans la classe ».

Bien qu'une grande partie de sa production soit de la musique électroacoustique sur bande, elle manifeste un intérêt croissant pour les instruments acoustiques. Elle a composé de la musique de concert pour une variété d'instruments acoustiques et de formations instrumentales, notamment pour des artistes et ensembles tels qu'Eve Egoyan, Beverley Johnston et Arraymusic. Ann Southam est membre du Centre de musique canadienne et de la Ligue des compositeurs canadiens, ainsi que membre fondatrice de l'Association des femmes compositeurs du Canada.


Scientist in music The Reprieve Beneath the Forest Floor Concerto pour Ondes-Martenot Riverrun

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits