cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Firsts
Rose Latulippe

Rose Latulippe

THE WORK

Rose Latulippe (1966), a three-act ballet with choreography by Brian Macdonald set to music by Harry Freedman, was the first-full length Canadian ballet. Commissioned for the Royal Winnipeg Ballet to commemorate Canada's Centennial, the ballet takes place in a community on the St Lawrence River in 1740 and concerns a young girl bewitched by the devil but saved by the love and devotion of her family and fianc. Freedman's music is serial in technique and evokes regional colour through dance rhythms and melodic figures.

Rose Latulippe was premiered on August 16, 1966 by the Royal Winnipeg Ballet at the Stratford Festival in a production that was broadcast on CBC TV's "Music Canada" on April 12, 1967. This broadcast marked the first CBC special to be broadcast in colour. The ballet was also presented at the Charlottetown Festival from August 8-19 August, 1967 and the Toronto's Royal Alexandra Theatre on August 25-26, 1967.

THE COMPOSER

Harry Freedman (1922-2005) - Born in Poland, Freedman came to Canada with his family when he was three. His early training was as a visual artist but he developed an interest in jazz which soon spread to classical music. At eighteen, he began studying clarinet and after four years in the RCAF during the war, he came to Toronto to study oboe and composition (with John Weinzweig) at the Royal Conservatory of Music. The following year he joined the Toronto Symphony as its English horn player, a position he held for 24 years until he resigned in 1970 to devote his full time to composing. Apart from brief periods with Aaron Copland, Olivier Messiaen, and Ernst Krenek, the 5 years he spent with Weinzweig were the extent of his formal composition studies.

Freedman is one of Canada's most frequently performed composers. His output includes over 200 compositions ranging from solo voice to choir, from symphonies to string, wind and brass ensembles, from theatre to dance stage and from film to television programs. Freedman was one of a handful of composers who earned their livelihoods solely from their music. His wide experience in all musical fields enabled him to write in many different idioms, all of which have contributed to and are recognizable in his musical style.


Rose Latulippe Colas et Colinette Centre Elan Atlantic Suite Cain



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Firsts
Rose Latulippe

Rose Latulippe

L'OEUVRE

Rose Latulippe (1966), ballet en trois actes (chorégraphie de Brian Macdonald et musique de Harry Freedman), est le premier ballet canadien d'envergure. Commandé par le Royal Winnipeg Ballet pour commémorer le Centenaire du Canada, le ballet se situe en 1740 dans un village situé au bord du Saint-Laurent. Il raconte l'histoire d'une jeune fille pieuse ensorcelée par le démon, mais qui est sauvée par l'amour et la dévotion de sa famille ainsi que de son fiancé. La musique de Freedman, qui fait appel à la technique sérielle, évoque la couleur régionale au moyen de rythmes de danse et de motifs mélodiques.

Rose Latulippe fut créé le 16 août 1966 par le Royal Winnipeg Ballet au Festival de Stratford, et télédiffusé par la CBC dans le cadre de l'émission « Music Canada », le 12 avril 1967. Il s'agissait de la première émission spéciale de la CBC télédiffusée en couleur. Le ballet fut également présenté au Festival de Charlottetown du 8 au 19 août 1967, de même qu'au Royal Alexandra Theatre, à Toronto, les 25 et 26 août 1967.

LE COMPOSITEUR

Harry Freedman (1922-2005) Né en Pologne, Harry Freedman vient au Canada avec sa famille à l'âge de trois ans. Après avoir reçu une formation dans le domaine des arts visuels, il se découvre un intérêt pour le jazz qui gagne bientôt la musique classique. À 18 ans, il entreprend l'étude de la clarinette et, après avoir servi quatre ans dans l'Armée de l'air du Canada pendant la Guerre, il se rend à Toronto pour étudier le hautbois et la composition (avec John Weinzweig) au Royal Conseratory of Music. L'année suivante, il est engagé comme cor anglais au Toronto Symphony, poste qu'il occupera 24 ans, jusqu'à ce qu'il en démissionne en 1970 pour se consacrer entièrement à la composition. À l'exception de courtes périodes d'études avec Aaron Copland, Olivier Messiaen et Ernst Krenek, ses cours officiels de composition se limitent aux cinq années où il a travaillé avec John Weinzweig.

Harry Freedman était un membre fondateur du Centre de musique canadienne, de la Ligue des compositeurs canadiens et de la Guilde des compositeurs canadiens de musique de film. En 1970, il a remporté le prix Etrog (rebaptisé Genie) de la meilleure trame sonore d'un long métrage aux Canadian Film Awards. En 1984, il était nommé Officier de l'Ordre du Canada.

Harry Freedman est l'un des compositeurs canadiens les plus souvent exécutés. Son catalogue inclut plus de 200 compositions dans des genres allant de la voix en solo à la musique chorale, des symphonies aux ensembles d'instruments à cordes, à vent ou de cuivres, du théâtre à la danse et du cinéma à la télévision. Freedman fait partie de la poignée de compositeurs qui ont vécu uniquement de leur plume. Sa vaste expérience dans toutes les disciplines de la musique lui a permis de composer dans un éventail de langages musicaux, qui ont tous contribué à forger un style facilement reconnaissable.


Rose Latulippe Colas et Colinette Centre Elan Atlantic Suite Cain

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits