cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Firsts
Atlantic Suite

Atlantic Suite

THE WORK

Atlantic Suite (1975), a highly evocative four-movement work for jazz band, was the winner of the first ever Juno Award for “Best Jazz Album” in 1977. Nimmons would again be nominated for this award the very next year for Tranformations/Invocation.

This work, which includes movements entitled Harbours, Islands, Tides and Horizons, is a lyrical portrait of Canada’s Atlantic Coast and the award-winning recording (featuring liner notes by none other than Farley Mowat) features Nimmons ‘N’ Nine Plus Six – a veritable who’s who of jazz instrumentalists of the time.

The CMC’s audio archive features a later recording of the Islands movement performed by clarinetist James Campbell and pianist Gene DiNovi. This is a particularly interesting recording as Nimmons was in attendance and had transcribed the work, originally an extended improvisation, for James and Gene to perform at this recital.

THE COMPOSER

Phil Nimmons (1923 - ) is unique in Canada as a performer, composer, educator, clinician and Artistic Director of music programs. He is a multimedia composer of over 400 original contemporary classical and jazz compositions written for stage, television, radio, theatre and film, in addition to hundreds of jazz orchestrations. Phil earned a scholarship to study at Julliard and later studied composition at the Royal Conservatory. Phil is a founding member of the Canadian League of Composers.

He was the first artistic director of many summer jazz programs and influenced the inauguration of jazz studies at the University of Toronto where he has taught for over 30 years. His bands, Nimmons ‘N’ Nine and Nimmons ‘N’ Nine Plus Six performed on radio and television, and toured extensively. Currently Phil performs and records with The Phil Nimmons Quartet.

He was the first recipient of the Toronto Arts Award for Creative Excellence in Music, the first Juno Award recipient for Jazz and a multiple recipient of The Jazz Report’s Clarinetist of the Year Award. He was made both an Officer of the Order of Ontario and Canada and in 2001 he was inducted into the Jazz Educator’s Hall of Fame. Phil received SOCAN’s Lifetime Achievement Award in November 2005.


Rose Latulippe Colas et Colinette Centre Elan Atlantic Suite Cain



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Firsts
Atlantic Suite

Atlantic Suite

L'OEUVRE

Atlantic Suite (1975), pièce très évocatrice en quatre mouvements pour ensemble de jazz, a remporté en 1977 le tout premier prix Juno jamais décerné dans la catégorie « Meilleur album de jazz ». Nimmons était de nouveau en nomination dans cette catégorie l'année suivante, pour Transformations/Invocation .

Cette oeuvre, dont les mouvements s'intitulent Harbours (ports) , Islands (îles) , Tides (marées) et Horizons , est un tableau lyrique de la côte atlantique canadienne. L'enregistrement primé (avec des notes sur les oeuvres rédigées par nul autre que Farley Mowat) met en vedette l'ensemble Nimmons N' Nine Plus Six qui réunit les meilleurs instrumentistes de jazz de l'époque.

Les archives audio du CMC contiennent un enregistrement ultérieur du mouvement Islands , interprété par le clarinettiste James Campbell et le pianiste Gene DiNovi. Il s'agit d'un enregistrement particulièrement intéressant, puisque Nimmons y assistait et avait transcrit la pièce, à l'origine une longue improvisation, en vue de ce récital de James et de Gene.

LE COMPOSITEUR

Phil Nimmons (1923 - ) occupe une place unique au Canada comme interprète, compositeur, pédagogue, clinicien et directeur artistique de plusieurs séries musicales. Compositeur multimédia, il a signé plus de 400 compositions originales de musique contemporaine et de jazz pour la scène, la télévision, la radio, le théâtre et le cinéma, qui s'ajoutent à des centaines d'orchestrations dans le domaine du jazz. Après avoir obtenu une bourse pour fréquenter l'École Juilliard, il a ensuite étudié la composition au Royal Conservatory de Toronto. Il est un membre fondateur de la Ligue des compositeurs canadiens.

Premier directeur artistique de nombreux programmes de jazz estivaux, il a contribué à mettre sur pied des cours de jazz à l'Université de Toronto, où il enseigne depuis plus de 30 ans. Ses ensembles, Nimmons N' Nine ainsi que Nimmons N' Nine Plus Six , se sont produits à la radio et à la télévision, en plus de faire de nombreuses tournées. Actuellement, Phil joue et enregistre au sein de The Phil Nimmons Quartet .

Phil Nimmons a été le premier à recevoir le Toronto Arts Award for Creative Excellence in Music, un prix Juno dans le domaine du jazz ainsi que, à plusieurs reprises, le prix du clarinettiste de l'année décerné par le magazine Jazz Report. Il a été nommé Officier de l'Ordre de l'Ontario et de l'Ordre du Canada en 2001, en plus d'être intronisé au temple de la renommée de Jazz Educator. Phil a reçu le Prix d'Excellence SOCAN en novembre 2005.


Rose Latulippe Colas et Colinette Centre Elan Atlantic Suite Cain

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits