cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Firsts
Centre Elan

Centre Elan

THE WORK

One of the focuses for Expo 67 in Montreal was culture in its many forms and music played an important role at each of the international pavilions. Many pavilions used films and prepared tape music to tell their unique stories. As a result, over a million visitors experienced Canadian electronic and film music. Many experienced electronic music for the first time and were able to appreciate these foreign sounds within the context of the larger exhibits. It can be said that "electronic music as the new functional art medium received wide exposure through Expo 67."

Gilles Tremblay's electroacoustic work Centre Elan was the music featured in Quebec's pavilion at Expo 67. The pavilion's exhibits focused on urbanization, industrialization, business and education in the province while also presenting natural resources, particularly forestry and water as growth industries. It was this relationship between modern man and his environment that informed Tremblay's soundscape, which featured recordings of sounds collected from across the province. This work, which is one of the composer very few electronic pieces, earned him the 1968 Prix de musique Calixa-Lavallée.

THE COMPOSER

Gilles Tremblay was born in Arvida, Québec in 1932 and he now resides in Montréal. Tremblay is a composer, pianist, ondes Martenot player and teacher. As professor of analysis and composition at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal from 1961-1998 he helped to educate a generation of composers. Tremblay studied analysis with Messiaen in Paris, receiving his first prize in 1957. He then spent a summer in Darmstadt, and later worked with the Groupe de recherches musicales de l'ORTF. During these years he met numerous composers, including Boulez, Stockhausen, Boucourechliev, Ferrari and Xenakis.

Gilles Tremblay has won many prizes, including the Calixa Lavallée Prize (1968) and the Denise Pelletier Prize (1991). He has received numerous commissions, and has seen his music played throughout the world. He was made an Officer of the Ordre national du Québec (1991), and was named Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Minister of Culture (1993).

 


Rose Latulippe Colas et Colinette Centre Elan Atlantic Suite Cain



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Firsts
Centre Elan

Centre Elan

L'oeuvre

L'un des points d'intérêt de l'Expo 67 de Montréal était la culture sous ses diverses formes, et la musique jouait un rôle important dans les pavillons de tous les pays. Certains utilisaient des films et des enregistrements pour raconter leur histoire unique. Plus d'un million de Canadiens ont pu se familiariser ainsi avec la musique électronique et la musique de film, certains d'entre eux pour la première fois, et ils ont pu apprécier ces sons nouveaux dans le contexte global des expositions. On peut dire qu' « Expo 67 a été une vitrine remarquable pour la musique électronique en tant que nouveau médium artistique utilitaire ».

L'oeuvre électroacoustique de Gilles Tremblay, Centre Élan, était la musique présentée au pavillon du Québec à Expo 67. Les expositions du pavillon étaient axées sur l'urbanisation, l'industrialisation, les affaires et l'éducation dans la province, mais elles portaient aussi sur les ressources naturelles, en particulier la forêt et l'eau en tant que secteurs industriels en croissance. C'est cette relation entre l'homme moderne et son environnement qui a inspiré le paysage sonore de Tremblay, qui comportait des enregistrements de sons recueillis partout au Québec. Cette oeuvre, l'une des rares pièces électroniques du compositeur, lui a valu le Prix de musique Calixa-Lavallée en 1968.

 

LE COMPOSITEUR

Né en 1932 à Arvida, au Québec, Gilles Tremblay vit à Montréal. Il est compositeur, pianiste, ondiste et enseignant. Professeur d'analyse et de composition au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal de 1961 à 1998, il a contribué à former toute une génération de compositeurs. Tremblay a étudié l'analyse avec Messiaen à Paris, où il a remporté son premier prix en 1957. Il a ensuite passé un été à Darmstadt, puis collaboré avec le Groupe de recherches musicales de l'ORTF. Il a rencontré à cette époque un grand nombre de compositeurs, dont Boulez, Stockhausen, Boucourechliev, Ferrari et Xenakis.

Gilles Tremblay a gagné de nombreux prix, dont le Prix Calixa-Lavallée (1968) et le Prix Denise-Pelletier (1991). Il a reçu un grand nombre de commandes, et sa musique est exécutée partout dans le monde. Il a été nommé Officier de l'Ordre national du Québec (1991), ainsi que Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres par le ministre français de la Culture (1993).


Rose Latulippe Colas et Colinette Centre Elan Atlantic Suite Cain

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits