cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley

Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley

INTERVIEW

In this interview Oskar Morawetz speaks of composing his Piano Concerto No.1 for a competition held by the Montreal Symphony Orchestra. During his conversation with interviewer Timothy Findley, Morwetz discusses the process of writing the piece, its eventual performances in Montreal (conducted by Zubin Mehta), New York (at Carnegie Hall) and Minneapolis, and its two broadcast recordings (CBC & BBC). This interview is particularly interesting considering the significance of the composer, the work, and the interviewer himself. Timothy Findley later became one of Canada's most influential and popular novelists and playwrights.

INTERVIEWEE Oskar Morawetz

Oskar Morawetz was born in Czechoslovakia in 1917. He studied piano and theory in Prague and following the Nazi takeover of his country in 1938, in Vienna and Paris. At the age of 19 he was recommended by George Szell for the assistant conductor's post with the Prague Opera. In 1940 he left Europe for Canada and since that time he established himself as one of Canada's leading and most frequently performed composers.

His orchestral compositions have won many awards and have been programmed worldwide by nearly 120 orchestras and by such conductors as Zubin Mehta, Seiji Ozawa, Rafael Kubelik, Kurt Masur, Gunther Herbig, Sir Andrew Davis, Sir Adrian Boult, Sir Charles Mackerras, and many prominent Canadian conductors. Many internationally acclaimed soloists have performed and recorded his compositions including Yo-Yo Ma, Itzhak Perlman, Glenn Gould, Anton Kuerti, Jon Vickers, Maureen Forrester, Victor Braun, Judith Forst, Ben Heppner, and many principal wind players of the best orchestras in the U.S.A. and Canada who have commissioned and premièred his works.

His style absorbs several trends of the 20th century but was never attached to serial music or avant-garde styles such as chance or electronic music. Musicologists and critics usually stress the melodic and rhythmic vitality of his music, sincerity and depth of expression, his sense for building up powerful, dramatic climaxes, and his unusually colourful and imaginative orchestration.

Excerpt from www.oskarmorawetz.com


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley

Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley

L'INTERVIEW

Dans cette interview avec Timothy Findley, Oskar Morawetz parle de la composition du Piano Concerto N o 1 écrit pour un concours organisé par l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. Il parle du processus d'écriture, des exécutions subséquentes de l'oeuvre à Montréal (sous la direction de Zubin Mehta), à New York (au Carnegie Hall) et à Minneapolis, ainsi que de ses deux enregistrements aux fins de radiodiffusion par la CBC et la BBC. L'intérêt de cette interview tient à l'importance du compositeur et de l'uvre, mais aussi à celle de l'intervieweur. Timothy Findley allait devenir l'un des romanciers et dramaturges les plus influents et populaires du Canada.

L'INTERVIEWÉ Oskar Morawetz

Oskar Morawetz est né en Tchécoslovaquie en 1917. Il a étudié le piano et la théorie musicale à Prague puis, après l'invasion nazie en 1938, à Vienne et à Paris. Il avait19 ans lorsque George Szell le recommanda pour le poste chef d'orchestre adjoint à l'Opéra de Prague. En 1940, il quitta l'Europe pour le Canada, dont il est devenu l'un des compositeurs les plus éminents et les plus souvent joués.

Ses compositions pour orchestre lui ont valu de nombreux prix et ont été exécutées à travers le monde par près de 120 orchestres sous la direction de chefs d'orchestres tels Zubin Mehta, Seiji Ozawa, Rafael Kubelik, Kurt Masur, Gunther Herbig, Sir Andrew Davis, Sir Adrian Boult, Sir Charles Mackerras et de nombreux chefs canadiens de renom. Beaucoup de solistes de réputation internationale ont chanté et enregistré ses oeuvres, notamment Yo-Yo Ma, Itzhak Perlman, Glenn Gould, Anton Kuerti, Jon Vickers, Maureen Forrester, Victor Braun, Judith Forst ou Ben Heppner. Plusieurs titulaires du poste solo des sections à vent des plus grands orchestres canadiens et américains ont commandé et créé ses compositions.

Son style s'imprègne de diverses tendances du 20 e siècle mais n'a jamais adopté le sérialisme ni des styles d'avant-garde comme la musique aléatoire ou électronique. Les musicologues et les critiques soulignent généralement la vitalité mélodique et rythmique de la musique de Morawetz, sa sincérité et sa profondeur dans l'expression, son sens de la progression dramatique, ses orchestrations remarquablement colorées et inventives.

Extrait de www.oskarmorawetz.com


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC

About Audio Preservation