cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan

Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan

THE INTERVIEW

According to composer John Beckwith, "MacMillan wasn't primarily a composer but he possessed a strong gift. By their striking themes, harmonic boldness, and fluency of part writing, [MacMillan's scores] outshine most other productions by Canadian composers of their era."

This particular interview of Sir Ernest was broadcast to commemorate his 75 th Birthday. One week prior to this broadcast, a concert involving the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, the Festival Singers and the Toronto Symphony (under the direction of Elmer Iseler) was held to mark this momentous occasion. This interview, conducted at MacMillan's Park Road home in Toronto, focuses on the man's life and artistic achievements.

INTERVIEWEE Ernest MacMillan

During a remarkable life, Sir Ernest MacMillan acted as a catalyst to musical creativity in Canada, as conductor of the Toronto Symphony and Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, dean of the Faculty of Music at the University of Toronto, principal of the Toronto Conservatory of Music, president of Jeunesses musicales of Canada, president of the Canadian Music Council, and for 22 years president of the music licensing agency CAPAC. He was also a charter member of the Canada Council for the Arts and served two terms on its board. The Canadian Music Centre became an important focus for MacMillan in his later years, and he was its co-founder and first president. When he was knighted in 1935 by George V, he became the first person in the Commonwealth outside Great Britain to be so honoured for services to music.

INTERVIEWER John Beckwith

Born in Victoria, British Columbia, he studied piano with Alberto Guerrero at the Toronto Conservatory of Music in 1945. He received a Mus.B. (1947) and a Mus.M. (1961) from the University of Toronto. From 1950 to 1951, he studied in Paris with Nadia Boulanger. He started teaching at in the Faculty of Music at the University of Toronto in 1952, where from 1970 to 1977, he was its dean. He was founding director of the Institute for Canadian Music at the University of Toronto. He has written over 130 compositions covering stage, orchestral, chamber, solo and choral genres. In 1987, he was made a Member of the Order of Canada.


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan

Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan

L'INTERVIEW

D'après le compositeur John Beckwith, « MacMillan n'était pas d'abord compositeur, mais il était très doué. Tant par leurs thèmes saisissants que par leur audace harmonique et la fluidité des parties individuelles, dit-il, les partitions de MacMillan surpassent largement la plupart des oeuvres des autres compositeurs canadiens de l'époque. »

Cette interview avec Sir Ernest fut radiodiffusée pour souligner son 75 e anniversaire de naissance. Une semaine avant sa mise en ondes, l'événement était célébré par un concert réunissant le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, les Festival Singers et le Toronto Symphony, sous la direction d'Elmer Iseler. L'interview réalisée au domicile de MacMillan sur Park Road, à Toronto, porte sur sa vie personnelle et ses réalisations artistiques.

L'INTERVIEWÉ Ernest MacMillan

Au cours d'une existence remarquable, Sir Ernest MacMillan fut un catalyseur de la créativité musicale au Canada en tant que chef du Toronto Symphony et du Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, de doyen de la Faculté de musique de l'Université de Toronto, de directeur du Toronto Conservatory of Music, de président des Jeunesses musicales du Canada, de président du Conseil canadien de la musique et, pendant 22 ans, de président de la société de droits d'exécution CAPAC. Membre du premier Conseil des Arts du Canada, il fit partie de son conseil d'administration pendant deux mandats. Le Centre de musique canadienne, dont il fut un cofondateur et le premier président, l'occupa considérablement à la fin de sa vie. Lorsqu'il fut anobli par le roi George V en 1935, il était la première personne dans tout le Commonwealth, en dehors de la Grande-Bretagne, à recevoir cet honneur pour services rendus dans le domaine de la musique.

L'INTERVIEWEUR John Beckwith

Né à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, John Beckwith a étudié le piano avec Alberto Guerrero au Toronto Conservatory of Music en 1945. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat (1947) et une maîtrise en musique (1961) de l'Université de Toronto. En 1950 et 1951, il a étudié à Paris avec Nadia Boulanger. En 1952, il a commencé à enseigner à la Faculté de musique de l'Université de Toronto, dont il fut le doyen de 1970 à 1977. Il a été directeur fondateur de l'Institut pour la musique canadienne à l'Université de Toronto. Il a écrit plus de 130 compositions dans divers genres : scène, orchestre, musique de chambre, oeuvres pour soliste et pour choeur. Il a été nommé Membre de l'Ordre du Canada en 1987.


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits