cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft

Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft

INTERVIEW

This interview includes a discussion of the first five years of New Music Concerts' performance series in Toronto as well as commentary about two featured works by Claude Vivier and Peter Maxwell Davies. This episode of Music of Today - the first in a series of broadcasts of live new music events from across the country - aired on April 18, 1976. Aitken described the growth of the new music community across Canada from Montreal's Société de musique contemporaine du Québec ( SMCQ) to New Music Concerts to other series throughout the rest of the country.

New Music Concerts celebrates its 35 th Anniversary this year (2006) and continues to nurture performers and audience for contemporary music activities through the excellence and diversity of its programming as well as its involvement in presenting the finest contemporary composers and ensembles from around the world.

INTERVIEWEE Robert Aitken

Robert Aitken began composition studies with Barbara Pentland in Vancouver and then at the University of Toronto with John Weinzweig. As the first student admitted to the Electronic Music Studio of the University of Toronto, he became familiar with developments in electronic music and composed a number of prominent electronic works. The first work which established him as a composer in the eyes of the concert public was his Concerto for 12 Soloists and Orchestra which was performed by the Toronto Symphony in 1968.

Since that time he has completed a number of commissions for such organizations as the National Arts Centre Orchestra, the CBC, the National Youth Orchestra, the York Winds, IRCAM and the Elmer Iseler Singers. Composition time has been at a great premium due to his career as a flutist and his administrative responsiblities as artistic director of the Advanced Studies in Music Program, Banff Centre (1986-89); New Music Concerts, Toronto (1971-present); Music at Shawnigan (1981-1990); and from 1988 until 2004 was Professor of Flute at the Hochschule für Musik, Freiburg, Germany.

INTERVIEWER Norma Beecroft

Norma Beecroft has enjoyed an active life in music, as a composer, producer, broadcaster and administrator. Beecroft studied composition at the Berkshire Music Center (Tanglewood) with Aaron Copland and Lukas Foss, the Accademia di Santa Cecilia (Rome) under Goffredo Petrassi, and at the University of Toronto with Myron Schaeffer. Many of Beecroft's compositions combine electronically produced or altered sounds together with live instruments. She regards her use of electronic music as an extension of vocal and instrumental sounds rather than a contrast of timbres.

Beecroft has also enjoyed a long association with the world of broadcasting. While at the CBC she held the positions of script assistant, music consultant, talent relations officer, national program organizer, and producer. In 1969 she began a freelance career as producer and commentator on contemporary music. She was the host of "Music of Today", and her freelance work included documentaries about Canadian composers.

Beecroft has been active in the promotion of Canadian and contemporary music in addition to her broadcasting and composing career. She is a former President of both the Canadian Music Associates (the Toronto concert committee of the Canadian League of Composers), and Ten Centuries Concerts. In 1971, she co-founded (with Robert Aitken) New Music Concerts, and was its President and General Manager until 1989.


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft

Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft

L'INTERVIEW

Cette interview inclut un retour sur les cinq premières années des New Music Concerts à Toronto de même que des commentaires sur deux oeuvres de Claude Vivier et de Peter Maxwell Davies. Cette première émission de « Music of Today », qui diffusait en direct des concerts de musique nouvelle partout au Canada, fut mise en ondes le 18 avril 1976. Aitken y décrit le développement du milieu de la musique nouvelle au Canada, depuis la création de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ) jusqu'aux New Music Concerts, en passant par d'autres séries de concerts partout au pays.

New Music Concerts, qui célèbre cette année (2006) son 35 e anniversaire, continue de fournir aux interprètes et aux auditeurs une programmation de musique contemporaine aussi excellente que variée, et maintient son engagement à présenter les meilleurs compositeurs et ensembles du monde entier.

L'INTERVIEWÉ Robert Aitken

Robert Aitken a entrepris ses études de composition avec Barbara Pentland, à Vancouver, et les a poursuivies auprès de John Weinzweig, à l'Université de Toronto. En tant que premier élève du Studio de musique électronique de l'Université de Toronto, il s'est familiarisé avec les développements en matière de musique électronique et il a composé plusieurs oeuvres électroniques marquantes. Son coup d'envoi dans ce domaine, aux yeux du public de concert, fut son Concerto for 12 Soloists and Orchestra , crée par le Toronto Symphony in 1968.

Depuis cette époque, il a rempli de nombreuses commandes pour des organismes tels que l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, la CBC, l'Orchestre national des Jeunes, les York Winds, l'IRCAM et les Elmer Iseler Singers. Sa carrière de flûtiste et ses charges administratives comme directeur du programme d'études supérieures en musique au Banff Centre (de 1986 à 1989), aux New Music Concerts (de 1971 à ce jour) et à Music at Shawnigan (de 1981 à 1990) ont laissé à Robert Aitken peu de temps à consacrer à la composition. De 1988 à 2004, il a été professeur de flûte à la Hochschule für Musik à Freiburg, en Allemagne.

L'INTERVIEWEUSE Norma Beecroft

Norma Beecroft a mené une carrière active dans plusieurs domaines : composition, réalisation, radiodiffusion et administration. Elle a étudié la composition au Berkshire Music Center, à Tanglewood, avec Aaron Copland et Lukas Foss ; à l'Accademia di Santa Cecilia, à Rome, avec Goffredo Petrassi, et, à l'Université de Toronto, avec Myron Schaeffer. Plusieurs de ses compositions marient les sonorités produites ou modifiées par des moyens électroniques, en combinaison avec des instruments acoustiques. Elle enploie la musique électronique comme un prolongement des sonorités vocales et instrumentales plutôt qu'un exercice de contraste des timbres.

Beecroft a longtemps fréquenté le monde de la radiodiffusion. À la CBC, elle a été rédactrice adjointe, conseillère musicale, agent de liaison avec les artistes, organisatrice d'émissions au niveau national et réalisatrice. En 1969, elle a entrepris une carrière de réalisatrice et de commentatrice de musique contemporaine à la pige. Elle a animé l'émission « Music of Today » et ses activités de pigiste incluent des documentaires sur les compositeurs canadiens.

En plus de ses activités dans les domaines de la radiodiffusion et de la composition , Norma Beecroft a consacré beaucoup d'énergie à la promotion de la musique canadienne et contemporaine. Elle a été présidente des Canadian Music Associates (le comité de concert torontois de la Ligue des compositeurs canadiens) et des Ten Centuries Concerts. En 1971, elle a fondé avec Robert Aitken les New Music Concerts, dont elle a été présidente et directrice générale jusqu'en 1989.


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits