cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Helmut Blume with Schafer

Helmut Blume with Schafer

THE INTERVIEW

This interview, featuring R. Murray Schafer and Serge Garrant, examines modern Canadian music of the time and looks at why composers write works that some listeners view as "incomprehensible". This program is of interest because of its clear outlining of Schafer's views on musical creation and its use of scholarly language. This type of in-depth musical deconstruction would certainly not be found on today's classical music radio.

INTERVIEWEE R. Murray Schafer

Born in Sarnia, Ontario, R. Murray Schafer has won acclaim not only for his achievement as a composer but also as an educator, environmentalist, literary scholar, visual artist and provocateur. After receiving a Licentiate in piano through the Royal Schools of Music (England), he studied at the Royal Conservatory of Music and the University of Toronto, followed by periods of study in Austria and England which encompassed literature, philosophy, music and journalism. He has written works ranging from orchestral compositions to choral music as well as musical theatre and multi-media ritual.

His interests are reflected in the enormous range and depth of his works including Loving (1965), Lustro (1972), Music for Wilderness Lake (1979), Flute Concerto (1984), and the World Soundscape Project , as well as his 12-part Patria music theatre cycle. His most important book, The Tuning of the World (1977), documents the findings of his World Soundscape Project, which united the social, scientific and artistic aspects of sound and introduced the concept of acoustic ecology. The concept of soundscape unifies most of his musical and dramatic work, as well as his educational and cultural theories.

THE INTERVIEWER Helmut Blume

Helmut Blume , born in Berlin and immigrating to Canada in 1940, was a pianist, broadcaster, administrator and educator. He studied at the University of Berlin (with Hindemith), the Hochschule für Musik (Berlin) and in England with Louis Kentner. After moving to Canada he studied with Alberto Guerrero and was appointed head of the piano department of the Hambourg Conservatory. He became associated with the German section of CBC IS in Montreal, first as editor-broadcaster, then as head. He then became music consultant to CBC IS and produced many music programs including "CBC Wednesday Night", "Form in Music", "Opera Stars and Stories", "Music and the Church" and "The Musical Mind".

He joined the Faculty of Music at McGill University as an instructor in 1946 and became dean in 1964. In 1955, while chairman of the department of keyboard and vocal music, he opened the opera workshop. During his tenure as dean he initiated changes in course structure and established an electronic studio under the direction of Istvan Anhalt. After retiring, Blume continued to teach piano at McGill for 20 years.

 


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Helmut Blume with Schafer

Helmut Blume with Schafer

L'INTERVIEW

Cette interview, à laquelle participent Murray Schafer et Serge Garant, se penche sur la musique canadienne moderne de l'époque et s'interroge sur ce qui pousse les compositeurs à écrire des uvres que certains auditeurs trouvent « incompréhensibles ». Cet émission est intéressante en ce qu'elle fait connaître clairement le point de vue de Schafer sur la création musicale et aussi par l'emploi d'un vocabulaire érudit. Ce type de déconstruction musicale en profondeur ne pourrait pas faire l'objet aujourd'hui d'une émission radiophonique de musique classique.

L'INTERVIEWÉ R. Murray Schafer

Né à Sarnia, en Ontario, R. Murray Schafer a été salué non seulement pour ses réalisations en tant que compositeur mais aussi en tant que pédagogue, environnementaliste, érudit littéraire, artiste visuel et provocateur. Après avoir terminé une licence en piano par le biais des Royal Schools of Music (Angleterre), il a étudié au Royal Conservatory of Music et à l'Université de Toronto. Ont suivi plusieurs séjours d'études en Autriche et en Angleterre, entre autres dans les domaines de la littérature, de la philosophie, de la musique et du journalisme. Il a écrit des oeuvres pour orchestre et pour choeur aussi bien que du théâtre musical et des rituels multimédias.

Ses centres d'intérêt se reflètent dans l'immense variété et la profondeur de ses compositions, qui incluent Toi ( Loving) (1965), Lustro (1972), Music for Wilderness Lake (1979), Flute Concerto (1984) et le World Soundscape Project , de même que Patria , son cycle de théâtre musical en 12 parties. Son ouvrage le plus important, The Tuning of the World (1977), décrit les découvertes de son projet de « paysage sonore du monde», qui tente de fondre les aspects sociaux, scientifiques et artistiques du son, et lançait le concept d'écologie acoustique. Le concept de paysage sonore unifie la plus grande partie de son uvre musicale et dramatique de même que ses théories sur l'éducation et la culture.

L'INTERVIEWEUR Helmut Blume

Helmut Blume , né à Berlin et venu au Canada en 1940, était pianiste, radiodiffuseur, administrateur et pédagogue. Il étudia à l'Université de Berlin avec Hindemith, et à la Hochschule für Musik de Berlin de même qu'en Angleterre avec Louis Kentner. Après avoir émigré au Canada, il fut l'élève d'Alberto Guerrero avant d'être été nommé chef du département de piano du Conservatoire de Hambourg. Il s'associa à la section allemande du Service international de la SRC à Montréal, d'abord comme éditeur-radiodiffuseur puis comme directeur. Devenu par la suite conseiller musical du SI de Radio-Canada, il réalisa de nombreuses émissions musicales, dont « CBC Wednesday Night », « Form in Music », « Opera Stars and Stories », « Music and the Church » et « The Musical Mind ».

Nommé professeur à la Faculté de musique de l'Université McGill en 1946, il en devint le doyen en 1964. Dès 1955, alors qu'il était chef du département des claviers et de la musique vocale, il fonda l'Atelier d'opéra. Pendant son décanat, il mit en place des changements de programme et créa un studio électronique dont il confia la direction à Istvan Anhalt. Après sa retraite, Blume continua d'enseigner le piano à McGill pendant 20 ans.


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits