cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC

Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC

THE INTERVIEW

This interview, featured on CBC Radio's "Music, Musicians and Personalities", featured John Adaskin the Executive Secretary of The Canadian Music Centre. Adaskin would have been a familiar personality to CBC listeners given his tireless work within the classical music community. The interview focuses on the situation for Canadian classical composers at the time and provides an interesting context for both the current work of the CMC in promoting and preserving Canada's concert music heritage and the ongoing struggle of composers to earn a living from their work.

INTERVIEWEE John Adaskin

John Adaskin, born in Toronto in 1908, was a conductor, radio producer, administrator, and cellist. The younger brother of Harry and Murray Adaskin, he studied 1924-9 at the Hambourg Conservatory with George Bruce and Boris Hambourg (cello) and 1930-3 at the Toronto Conservatory of Music with Leo Smith (cello and theory) and Luigi von Kunits (conducting). He played cello 1926-35 in broadcasting orchestras and 1926-38 in the TSO and was a producer 1934-43 for the CRBC and its successor, the CBC.

As head of John Adaskin Productions (1943-61) he continued to produce CBC programs, including the popular series 'Singing Stars of Tomorrow' and 'Opportunity Knocks'. On behalf of the CBC he commissioned Britten's The Young Apollo (1939) and Willan's Transit through Fire (1942) as well as over 101 short compositions by 67 Canadians (1950-57) for 'Opportunity Knocks'. For a brief period (ca 1950) he organized and taught courses in radio and TV production at Toronto's Ryerson Polytechnical Institute. In 1961 he became the Executive Secretary of the Canadian Music Centre, an office he held until his sudden death. A tireless promoter of Canadian music, he developed the centre's library, edited the magazine Music Across Canada and commissioned several composers to write works for school use. The John Adaskin Project continues his work in promoting Canadian educational composition.


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC



About Audio Preservation

This project was made possible through funding from the AV Preservation Trust and the Department of Canadian Heritage AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits

cmc logo
englishdividerfrancais
cmc audiogallery
FirstsContextsInterviewsAward WinnersElectronic Frontiers
Interviews
Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC

Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC

L'INTERVIEW

Cette interview de John Adaskin, alors secrétaire général du Centre de musique canadienne, fut diffusée à l'émission Music, Musicians and Personalities de la radio de la CBC. Vu son infatigable dévouement dans le milieu de la musique classique, Adaskin était déjà familier aux auditeurs de la CBC. Cette entrevue met l'accent sur la situation des compositeurs classiques canadiens de l'époque et reconstitue le contexte du travail actuel du CMC, qui uvre à promouvoir et à préserver le patrimoine canadien de la musique de concert, tout en aidant les compositeurs, qui ont de la difficulté à vivre de leur musique.

L'INTERVIEWÉ John Adaskin

Né à Toronto en 1908, John Adaskin fut chef d'orchestre, réalisateur à la radio, administrateur et violoncelliste. Frère cadet de Harry et Murray Adaskin, il étudia au Conservatoire de Hambourg de 1924 à 1929 avec George Bruce et Boris Hambourg (violoncelle), puis, de 1930 à 1933, au Toronto Conservatory of Music où il fut l'élève de Leo Smith (violoncelle et théorie) et de Luigi von Kunits (direction d'orchestre). De 1926 à 1935, il fut violoncelliste au sein d'orchestres radiophoniques, et, de 1926 à 1938, il fut membre du Toronto Symphony. De 1934 à 1943, il fut réalisateur à la CRBC, qui devint la CBC.

À titre de directeur des John Adaskin Productions (1943-1961), il continua à réaliser des émissions pour la CBC, dont les séries populaires « Singing Stars of Tomorrow » and « Opportunity Knocks ». Au nom de la CBC, il commanda The Young Apollo (1939) de Britten, Transit through Fire (1942) de Willan de même que 101 courtes pièces (1950-1957) de 67 compositeurs canadiens pour l'émission « Opportunity Knocks ». Pendant une brève période, vers 1950, il mit sur pied et donna des cours de réalisation radiophonique et télévisuelle au Ryerson Polytechnical Institute de Toronto. En 1961, il devint secrétaire général du Centre de musique canadienne, poste qu'il occupa jusqu'à sa mort soudaine. Champion infatigable de la musique canadienne, il développa les collections de la musicothèque du CMC, publia le magazine Music Across Canada et commanda à de nombreux compositeurs des uvres pour les écoles. Le Projet John Adaskin poursuit son oeuvre de promotion du répertoire canadien à vocation pédagogique.


Interview: Oskar Morawetz and Timothy Findley Interview: John Weinzweig: barn dance Beckwith interviewing Sir Ernest MacMillan Interview: Robert Aitken with Norma Beecroft Helmut Blume with Schafer Interview: John Adaskin behind the scenes at the CMC

About Audio Preservation
Cette réalisation a été rendu possible en partie grâce à la contribution financière de TrustAV AV Trust Department of Canadian Heritage

Site and Digital Audio Archive Credits